Still-life Photography…

I find still-life photography incredibly hard, yet incredibly satisfying.  I challenged myself to get better at it this year so am taking part in Kim Klassen’s Be Still 52 class, which means I have to attempt at least one still-life each week.  It also means I’ve started to acquire an eclectic collection of dishes, bowls, cups and other oddments that might one day find a place in a photo.  I’m not naturally a collector or a hoarder so having so many bits and bobs around is quite disturbing to the minimalist part of me.  It’s also nerve-wracking when you have three cats, one of whom is into everything he can get his paws on.

 

IMG_7133

IMG_7192

 

5 thoughts on “Still-life Photography…

  1. I am in Kim’s The Studio class and I have the same issues with props… well, not the cat issue 🙂 I am glad I am not the only one who struggles with this. Your still lives are beautiful. Thanks for linking at Life Thru the Lens, I look forward to seeing more of your work.

  2. I just love that second photo! It is so – dreamy and inviting – calming.

    Thank you for joining us for Photo Friday this week! I appreciate your work!

Leave a Reply

